Charity Number: 1160130
57 Higher Bore Street
PL31 1JS

The Spiritualists' Philosophy

Our Seven Principles

The philosophy of Spiritualism was given to us through the mediumship of Emma Hardinge Britten to give mankind an understanding of eternal life. It was given as five basic statements in the form of principles. These five principles became seven when the Spiritualists' National Union was founded in 1902 and form the cornerstone of its Memorandum of Association.

The Seven Principles of Spiritualism are:

1. The Fatherhood of God
2. The Brotherhood of Man
3. The Communion of Spirits and the Ministry of Angels
4. Continuous Existence of the Human Soul
5. Personal Responsibility
6. Compensation and Retribution hereafter for all the good and
evil deeds done on Earth.
7. Eternal Progress open to every Human Soul

Spiritualists are not tied to any creed or dogma. Within the Spiritualists' National Union (SNU) the members accept the Seven Principles as their guidelines for a way of life. These Principles form the core of the religion.
They are the legally accepted and lawfully recognised definition of the religious philosophy of Spiritualism.

Please click on "Our Principles Explained" to get an understanding of the meanings of our Seven Principles.


Bodmin Spiritualist Church & Healing Centre 2016